BRDC Award Dean Stoneman John Cobb Trophy

[postgallery_image width=”800″ id=”0″ height=”587″ undefined categories=”20″ align=”aligncenter” /]

Monday, 06 December 2010

In a year which has seen him win the 2010 FIA F2 championship and test a Williams F1 car, Dean Stoneman today added a further accolade; The John Cobb Trophy – an annual award given by the British Racing Drivers’ Club to the driver who has achieved successes of the most outstanding character during the past season.

Dean was presented the prestigious award by Damon Hill OBE, the BRDC Chairman, at London’s Savoy Hotel which was attended by BRDC members and their guests for the club’s annual awards. Many famous names of motorsport were there to see the 20 year old collect his trophy.

Dean said: “It makes me very proud to receive the John Cobb Trophy from the BRDC, especially when you look at the previous winners. To be recognised by the BRDC gives me a real feeling of acceptance from members and leading drivers.”
The panel selected Dean for his attitude and spirit which helped him to win the F2 championship at the first attempt and against fierce competition, many of whom were in their second or third year of competing in the series.

Dean now finds himself in good company, joining a list of recent former winners that include Lewis Hamilton, Thrust SSC pilot and world land speed record holder Andy Green, 2003’s ‘Bentley Boys’ (Mark Blundell, Johnny Herbert and Guy Smith), Dario Franchitti and Andy Wallace.